Acknowledgements

The author wishes to register his deep gratitude to Dr. Ashok Lahiri, Director, Dr. A. Bagchi, Professor Emeritus and Dr. Kavita Rao, Fellow (National Institute of Public Finance and Policy) for reading through the manuscript and offering valuable suggestions; to Mr. Lee Baker and Mr. Chetan Vaidya, (Financial Institutions Reforms and Expansion Project) for their comments on an earlier draft of the study; to the participants of a workshop held under the joint auspices of the National Institute of Public Finance and Policy and the National Institute of Urban Affairs for their views on the subject; to Mr. Sandeep Thakur and Anik Bhaduri for their assistance in the preparation of the Annexures: and Ms. Usha Mathur for word processing the study.

July 2001 New Delhi Om Prakash Mathur