7th Economic Theory and Policy Conference February 20-22

Jointly Organized by NIPFP, JNU, and Faculty of Economics, Kagawa University

Venue

Auditorium National Institute of Public Finance and Policy 18/2 Satsang Vihar Marg, Special Institutional Area New Delhi 110067

February 20

Welcome and Opening Remarks - Anjan Mukherji and Rathin Roy: 9.20-9.30

Session I: 9.30-10.50

Chairperson: Rathin Roy

1. Sourabh Bikas Paul and Anirban Mukherjee - Community Identity and Skill Mismatch:

A Study on Indian Labour Market

Discussant:

2. Tridip Ray and Mausumi Das -Financing Higher Education: Comparing Alternative

Policies Discussant:

Tea: 10.50-11.10

Session II: 11.10-13.10

Chairperson: S. Subramanian

1. Rittwik Chatterjee - A Collusion-Proof and Efficient Mechanism for Asymmetric Bid-

 ders

Discussant: Amarjyoti Mahanta

2. Srobonti Chattopadhyay - Sequential Auctions with Waiting Costs

Discussant: Amarjyoti Mahanta

3. Aditya Bhattacharjea and Uday Bhanu Sinha - Multi-market Collusion with Territorial

Allocation

Discussant: Rittwik Chatterjee

Lunch: 13.10-14.10

Session III: 14.10-15.30

Chairperson: Sugato Dasgupta

1. Abhirup Sarkar - Clientelism and Contagious Voting: A Theory of Persistent Govern-

ment Inefficiency

Discussant: Naresh Sharma

2. Parikshit Ghosh and Archisman Chakraborty - Character Endorsements and Electoral

Competition

Discussant: Debdatta Saha

Tea: 15.30-15.50

Session IV: 15.50-17.50

Chairperson: Abhirup Sarkar

1. S. Subramanian - Inequality, Poverty, Two Invariance Conditions, and A Product Rule

Discussant: Debabrata Pal

2. Arnaldur Slvi Kristjnsson and Peter J. Lambert - Structural Progression Measures for

Dual Income Tax Systems Discussant: Parikshit Ghosh

3. Vivekananda Mukherjee - Capital Accumulation, Equalizing Transfer and Race to the

Bottom in Fiscal Federalism

Discussant: Srobonti Chattopadhyay

February 21

Session V: 9.30-10.50

Chairperson:

1.

Discussant:

2. Chetan Ghate, Pawan Gopalakrishnan, Suchismita Tarafdar - A Model of the Indian Business Cycle

Discussant:

Tea: 10.50-11.10

Session VI: 11.10-13.10

Chairperson: Sudipto Mundle

1. Arnab Mukherji and Neeraj Sood - Financial Risk and Social Insurance: Evidence

from India Discussant:

2. Shruti Sharma - Imported Intermediate Inputs and Workforce Composition: Evidence from India's Tariff Liberalization

Discussant: Sisir Debnath

3. Shamim S. Mondal - Costs of Investing in Mutual Funds in India

Discussant:

Lunch: 13.10-14.10

Session VII: 14.10-15.30

Chairperson:

1. Prabal Roy Chowdhury and Debdatta Saha - Coordination and Private Information Revelation: Standard Setting Committees and the Market Bandwagon

Discussant:

2. Ram Singh - Take It or Beat It

Discussant:

Tea: 15.30-15.50

Session VIII: 15.50-17.50

Chairperson: Arun Kumar

1. Ravindra Ranade, Chukiat Chaiboonsri, and Prasert Chaitip - A Non-Linear Model for Forecasting International Tourism Demand of India

Discussant:

2.

Discussant:

3. Ramprasad Sengupta - Challenge of Creating Ecologically Sustainable Economy

Discussant: Manish Gupta

February 22

Session IX: 9.30-10.50

Chairperson:

1. Subrata Sarkar - The Evolving System of Corporate Governance in India

Discussant: Naresh Sharma

2. Jong Kook Shin and Chetan Subramanian - Monetary policy under labor market fric-

tions

Discussant: Debarshi Das

Tea: 10.50-11.10

Session X: 11.10-13.10

Chairperson:

1.

Discussant:

- 2. Amarjyoti Mahanta Endogenous Strategic(price/quantity) Variable in Mixed Duopoly Discussant: Suchismita Tarafdar
- 3. Anuj Bhowmik Coalitional Fairness: The Case of Exact Feasibility with Asymmetric Information

Discussant: Suchismita Tarafdar

Lunch: 13.10-14.10

Session XI: 14.10-15.30

Chairperson: Pinaki Chakraborty

1. Sisir Debnath - Improving Maternal Health with Incentives to Mothers vs. Health

Workers: Evidence from India Discussant: Shruti Sharma

2. Manish and Ramprasad Sengupta - Energy Savings Potential and Policy for Energy

Conservation in Selected Indian Manufacturing Industries

Discussant: Dipankar Sengupta

Tea: 15.30-15.50

Session XII: 15.50-17.50

Chairperson:

 $1.\ {\rm Mausumi\ Das}$ and Surbhi Badhwar - Inequality and Expectations in a Model of Technology Adoption and Growth

Discussant:

 $2.\$ Soumyanetra Munshi - Arranged Marriage, Education and Dowry: A Contract-Theoretic Perspective

Discussant: Sugata Bag 3. Swapan Dasgupta -

Discussant:

Concluding Remarks - Subrata Guha and Rajendra Kundu: 17.50-18.00

Authors

Aditya Bhattacharjea, Delhi School of Economics

Anuj Bhowmik, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata

Chukiat Chaiboonsri, Chiang Mai University, Chiang Mai, Thailand.

Prasert Chaitip, Chiang Mai University, Chiang Mai, Thailand.

Archishman Chakraborty, Yeshiva University

Rittwik Chatterjee, Centre for Studies in Social Sciences, Kolkata

Srobonti Chattoadhyay, Indian Institute of Management, Kolkata

Prabal Roy Chowdhury, Indian Statistical Institute, Delhi

Mausumi Das, Delhi School of Economics

Swapan Dasgupta

Sisir Debnath, Indian School of Business, Hyderabad

Chetan Ghate, Indian Statistical Institute, Delhi

Parikshit Ghosh, Delhi School of Economics

Pawan Gopalakrishnan, Indian Statistical Institute, Delhi

Manish Gupta, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy

Arnaldur Slvi Kristjinsson, University of Iceland and Toulouse School of Economics

Peter J. Lambert, University of Oregon, and Statistics Norway

Amarjyoti Mahanta, Centre for Development Studies, Thiruvananthapuram

Shamim S. Mondal, Alliance School of Business, Banglore

Anirban Mukherjee

Vivekananda Mukherjee, Jadavpur University

Arnab Mukherji, Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore

Soumyanetra Munshi, Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research, Mumbai, and

Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore

Sourabh Bikas Paul, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi

Ravindra Ranade, Kagawa University

Tridip Ray, Indian Statistical Institute, Delhi

Debdatta Saha, South Asian University, New Delhi

Abhirup Sarkar, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata

Subrata Sarkar, Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research, Mumbai

Ramprasad Sengupta, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy, New Delhi

Shruti Sharma, Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad

Jong Kook Shin, Queens University Belfast

Ram Singh, Delhi School of Economics

Uday Bhanu Sinha, Delhi School of Economics

Neerai Sood

Chetan Subramanian, Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore

S. Subramanian, Madras Institute of Development Studies

Suchismita Tarafdar, Shiv Nadar University, Delhi

Moumita Chel, Jadavpur University

Discussants

Sugata bag, Delhi School of Economics

Rittwik Chatterjee, Centre for Studies in Social Sciences, Kolkata

Srobonti Chattoadhyay, Indian Institute of Management, Kolkata Debarshi Das, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati Soumya Datta, South Asian University, New Delhi Sisir Debnath, Indian School of Business, Hyderabad Parikshit Ghosh, Delhi School of Economics Manish Gupta, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy Amarjyoti Mahanta, Centre for Development Studies, Thiruvananthapuram Debabrata Pal, Indian Institute of Technology, Jodhpur Debdatta Saha, South Asian University, New Delhi Dipankar Sengupta, University of Jammu Naresh Sharma, University of Hyderabad Shruti Sharma, Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad Suchismita Tarafdar, Shiv Nadar University, Delhi

Chairpersons

Pinaki Chakraborty, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy Sugato Dasgupta, Jawaharlal Nehru University
Arun Kumar, Jawaharlal Nehru University
Sudipto Mundle, 14th Finance Commission, Govt. of India
Rathin Roy, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy
Abhirup Sarkar, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata
S. Subramanian, Madras Institute of Development Studies